April 17, 2017

Students from across the county were honored for their achievements at the April 17, 2017, Williamson County Board of Education meeting. Westwood Elementary’s Connor Stewart was selected as the Tennessee AAA School Safety Patroller of the Year.  His teacher is Lee Ann Bauer.

In the arts, Molly Cahill from Independence was the winner of the ArtEffect Project International Art Competition through The Lowell Milken Center for Unsung Heroes.  Her teacher is Andrea Howard. Page High’s Alyssa Dinkins was a Scholastic Art and Writing Awards National Gold Medal winner.  Her teacher is Sharon Johnson.

In academics, Yi Qu and Nakhul Kisan from Brentwood High won first place at the Tennessee Science Olympiad for Microbe Mission.  Their teachers are Kathleen Kulpa and Jennifer Ames.

Williamson County Schools was well represented at the Tennessee State DECA competition.  Brentwood High’s Josie Tunnel and Regan Sanders won for Ad Campaign; Anna Mullaney and Sydney Sheehan won for Buying and Merchandising Team Decision Making; Sean Forbes won for Human Resource Management Individual Series; and Patrick Holcombe and Jack Holcombe won for Sports and Entertainment Marketing Plan.  Their teachers are Lisa Nease and Melissa Bashore. Franklin’s Ian Webb and John Clarke won Role Play.  Their teachers are Tunisha Hobson and Darrin Joines. Independence High’s Cat Renzaglia won for Hospitality, Tourism and Professional Selling, and Sarah Roth won for Restaurant and Food Service Management.  Their teacher is Will Scism. Page High’s Chloe Pigue won for Restaurant Management.  Her teacher is Jackie Stevens. Ravenwood’s Evan Bentley won for Automotive Service, and Bailey Jackson won for Business Growth Plan.  Their teachers are Shanee’ McGhee and Shawna Ervin.

Several students won first place at the Tennessee State HOSA competition. Independence High’s Alexa Clements, Claire Johns, Kaitlin Pisani and Rachel Hill won for Public Service Announcement.  The HOSA instructors are Brandi Mangrum, Kelly Cole and Matt Balzer is the Media and Film Instructor. Summit’s Sarah Moser won in Clinical Specialty, and Samantha Howell, Samantha Wright, Taborah Paz, Liliya Tkachuk and Courtney Wright won for Medical Reserve Corp.  Their teachers are Christina Isong and Denise Asbury.

At the Tennessee Technology Student Association competition, Fairview High’s Elizabeth Bulay was elected as the 2017-18 State TSA Treasurer.  Her teacher is Kevin Sizemore. Fairview Middle students Presley Jones, Connor Farris and Bobby Debaecke won the Construction Challenge; Alexis Miniat won Essays on Technology and Prepared Speech; and Max Poloskey won Flight Challenge.  Their teacher is Sara Reynolds. Page High’s Rian Gober, Riley Cochrane, Josh Price and Katie Weaver won for Architectural Design; Katie Weaver, Natalie Harris, Bill Good, Nathan Davis, Doug Lowe, Connor Naughton and Jacob Hamm won for On Demand Video; Riley Cochrane and Rian Gober won for Structural Design and Engineering; and Paxton Lifsey won for Transportation Modeling.  Their teachers are Beth Foreman and Jimmy Baker.

Renaissance High students Mason Stubblefield, Michael McClellan and Connor Morton won the TN Jumpstart Personal Finance Music Video Competition.  Their teacher is Paula Wolak.

Franklin High’s Jason Frazier was selected for the Music for All Honor Band of America, First Chair Alto Saxophone.  His band directors are David Aydelott and Jacob Campos.

In staff spotlights, Fairview Middle’s Sara Reynolds was named the Tennessee Student Technology Association Middle School Advisor of the Year, and Page High’s Jimmy Baker was named the Tennessee Student Technology Association High School Advisor of the Year.

In addition, the Board was treated to a musical performance prior to the meeting by members of the Ravenwood High Chamber Choir and Rhapsody A Cappella under the direction of Lauren Ramey.

In the Superintendent’s Report, Dr. Mike Looney shared that the first day of state testing had gone well in the district. He also told the Board that another rezoning community meeting would be held at Brentwood Middle on Wednesday, April 26 beginning at 6 p.m.

In the Board Chairman’s Report, Gary Anderson reminded the Board that a ribbon cutting for the Fairview High auditorium would be held May 15. He also called on Board member Rick Wimberly who provided a Strategic Plan update.

In New Business, the Board:

  • Approved an amendment for the 2016-17 General Purpose School Fund for $30,500 from Middle Tennessee State University to cover costs of WCS CTE teachers.
  • Approved an intra-category adjustment for $375,000 for Centennial High School flooring.
  • Approved a budget resolution for $10,000,000 for an energy efficient intent to fund.
  • Approved one policy on first reading, Middle School Examinations.
  • Approved one policy on second reading, Report Cards and Grading Systems.
  • Approved additional schools to be open zoned for 2017-18 due to the rezoning plan for 2018-19.

In other business, the Board:

  • Approved recommended field trip fee requests.
  • Approved a use of facilities fee schedule for 2017-18.
  • Approved the expansion of a playground at Chapman’s Retreat Elementary.

The next regular meeting of the Williamson County Board of Education is scheduled for Monday, May 15, 2017, beginning at 6:30 p.m. in the auditorium of the Administrative Complex.

Board packet information can be found on the school district’s website www.wcs.edu.  Select About WCS; select Board Meeting Schedule; and select the meeting date. Supporting documents are linked from the agenda.