Across the Board - April 15, 2024

WCS logo
  • Published April 16, 2024

    The School Board approved next year's meeting dates at its April 15 meeting.

    In his report to the Board, Superintendent Jason Golden thanked those who spoke in public comment. He also encouraged viewers to watch past work sessions to hear discussions about pay increases.

    In Student Spotlights, many students were recognized for their success at the DECA State Career Development Conference. From Ravenwood High, Devansh Nigam and Alexander White won the Buying and Merchandising Team Decision Making category; Ananya Antony and Riya Koranne won the Entrepreneurship and Team Decision Making category; Aayush Kumar won the Financial Consulting Event; Tanya Bhatia and Simran Daruwalla won the Financial Services Team Decision Making; Carson Flores, Alex Lee and Hemachandra Rambha won the Innovation Plan category; Vihaan Bussa, Varun Kilaru and Samuel Michael won the Integrated Marketing Campaign category; and Gautham Giri, Sowmil Kumble and Abhinav Vijayanand won the Sales project category. They are coached by Bryan Stuck.

    From Brentwood High, Will Corum won the Entrepreneurship Series; Lucy Wyatt won the Human Resources Management Series; Lexi McDonnough won the Marketing Communications Series; and Polly Kate Brown won the Retail Merchandising Series. They are coached by Lisa Nease.

    Summit High's Nathan Hoggard won the Principles of Finance category. He is coached by Rebekah Brashier.

    Independence High's Alyssa Watkins won the Human Growth and Development category at the HOSA State Leadership Conference. She is coached by Brandi Mangrum.

    The Board also celebrated many students for their work at the Technology Student Association (TSA) State Conference. From Legacy Middle, Joel Parker placed first in the Cybersecurity category; Whit Lacey, Dalton Mauk and Clayton Kelley won the Inventions and Innovations category; Max Penix Kai Schwab, Eston Sharp, Caroline Scogins and Avery Shelton won the Off the Grid category; Kai Schwab and Ryan Dugar won the Problem Solving category; Dash McLeod, Whit Lacey and Daniel Baugh won the Tech Bowl; and Lleyton Taylor and Maverick Rupert won the Technical Design category. They are coached by Robert Baltz and Amber Whiting.

    From Page High, Tommy Delk, Evan Moore, Bailey Murray, Huntley Peck, Arhaan Shaik and Amith Sudhagoni won the Engineering Design category; Shruthika Kakumani and Shruthi Mogan won the Forensic Science category; Erica Bowman won the Prepared Presentation category; Bailey Murray won the Promotional Design category; Shivam Bhardwaj, Logan Garland and Shruthi Mogan won the STEM Mass Media category; and Shruthika Kakumani, Shruthi Mogan and Evan Moore won the Tech Bowl. They are coached by Jay Emmons.

    From Ravenwood High, Manu Kalaskiam, Varun Kilaru, Samuel Michael, Yug Patel, Adam Rakhmanov and Malvika Rao won the Biotechnology Design category; Erica Goh, Laasya Kandali, Varshini Mohanasekaran, Anushri Mukherjee, Harshita Nallaka and Meghana Sappidi won the Children's Stories category; Srikar Kusumanchi and Satya Peddibholta won the Software Development category; Rohan Kilaru and Aneek Polepalli won the Structural Design and Engineering series; and Vihaan Bussa, Caelan Dunlea, Rohan Kilaru, Aneek Polepalli and Koushik Sanjay Saravana Kumar won the VEX Robotics Competition. They are coached by Jeremy Paisley.

    Students who competed in the Future Farmers of America (FFA) State Convention were also honored. Page Middle's Christian Waskey, Toa Lemaota, Jack Paiva and Killian Carey are the first middle school in Tennessee to win a State FFA contest after winning the Agronomy category. Their adviser is Tommy Green.

    Page High's Abigail Berny was named the Middle TN Star Farmer. Abigail, Luke Watkins, Gavon Veach, Addison Moore, Leah Rovey and David Agostino received their State Degree. Shana Boteler is their adviser.

    Fairview High's Amelia Ralston, Ashlyn Anderson, Jayden Gossett, Kailee Tuttle and Laura Kennedy also received their State Degrees. Their adviser is Kolton Porter.

    Several media students were also recognized for their success at the Tennessee High School Press Association (THSPA) Student Media Awards. Page High's Ruby Rouse won Best Photo Essay; Lincoln Campbell won Best Sports Video; Hayley Zehnder won Best Television Reporter; and Shepard White and Hannah Johnson won Best Public Service Announcement. Their teacher is David Holt.

    From Brentwood High, David Ward, Hudson Gray and Michael Gorokhovsky tied for Best Commercial, and WBHS 9 won Best Coverage of a Live Sports Event. Their teacher is Sloan Ashworth.

    Fairview High's Hutson Hargrove, Jonathan Lester and Parker Billingsley tied for Best Commercial. Their teacher is Rob Gregory.

    Franklin High's Anna Raye Jones won Best Videographer. Her teacher is Keri Thompson.

    Four students were also celebrated for earning a perfect ACT composite: Brentwood High's Carolyn Burke, Centennial High's Levi Sponsel, Franklin High's Adelaide Edwards and Page High's Nisanth Sundar.

    In Staff Spotlights, Page High Principal Dr. Katie Hill was named THSPA Administrator of the Year.

    In New Business, the Board:

    • Approved the following 2023-24 School Board Budget items:
      • Intent to Fund Capital Projects Fund Asphalt, Roof and HVAC - $11,405,000
      • Intent to Fund Capital Projects Fund Information Technology - $12,881,249
    • Approved the following Board policy on first reading:
      • Online Learning Program
    • Approved the Board Meeting Dates (Annual Agenda Item)
    • Approved the Tenure Recommendation of Superintendent to School Board (Annual Agenda Item)
    • Approved Revised Schools Fees Schedule for Secondary

    In Other Business, the Board:

    • Approved the Agenda
    • Approved the Consent Agenda, which included the following items:
      • March 18, 2024 School Board Meeting Minutes
      • Facilities Use Fee Schedule (Annual Agenda Item)
      • Centennial High School Outdoor Hitting Structure
      • Page High School Exterior Improvements
      • Field Trip Fee Requests

    The Board meeting in its entirety can be viewed on the WC-TV YouTube channel.

    The next regular School Board meeting is scheduled for Monday, May 19, at 6:30 p.m.