WCS Academic Excellence Continues with National Merit Finalists Announced

  • Published February 16, 2021

    For the third consecutive year, more than 50 Williamson County students are among the nation's academic elite after being named National Merit Finalists.

    Fifty-one of the district’s high school seniors were awarded the prestigious title. Students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. In 2020, the district had 52 National Merit Finalists, and in 2019, there were 51.

    "Our students are continuing to excel even during these unprecedented times,” said WCS Superintendent Jason Golden. “I am proud of the continued academic focus and perseverance of our National Merit Finalists. This is just another example of our outstanding students, their teachers and the hard work taking place in our schools."

    To become a finalist, the student and their high school must submit a scholarship application with information about the student’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, leadership abilities, employment, honors and awards.

    The National Merit Scholarship Corporation will choose recipients of the National Merit Scholarship from the finalists.

    Congratulations to the following students:

Brentwood High

    • Patrick Baugh
    • Shilpa Chowbey
    • Joe Grundberg
    • Abby Jordan
    • Parker Kasiewicz
    • Tristan Kennedy
    • Julia Lee
    • Oakley Martin
    • Isabel Oldham
    • Kylie Overton
    • Michelle Qiu
    • Samuel Robble
    • Anna Sullivan
    • Emily VanSchaack
    • Steven Walter
    • Elise Wilkins
    • Ron Ye

Centennial High

Fairview High

Franklin High

Independence High

Nolensville High

Page High

Ravenwood High

Summit High