• Published May 4, 2021

    WCS media students are continuing their winning ways with honors earned at both the Western Kentucky University (WKU) Mark of Excellence Awards and the Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU) Blue Sparks Awards.

    For the fourth consecutive year, the Brentwood High WBHS 9 broadcast team was named the best in Tennessee and Kentucky by WKU. At the Mark of Excellence Awards, Brentwood High students placed in six of the seven categories they entered, including first place in Best News Story. Brentwood High also placed second in the Best Feature Story, News Videography and Narrative Film categories, as well as earning a third-place finish for Best Sports Story.

    "I continue to be amazed at what a great year we've had," said BHS media teacher Ronnie Adcock. "We've won more awards than any other high school at the WKU Mark of Excellence Awards. We received really positive feedback about our projects, and our emphasis on news and sports continues to pay off."

    Franklin High was also recognized at the Mark of Excellence Awards with a win in Best Narrative Film.

    “I’m so happy and proud of David Allsep for winning this award,” said FHS media teacher Keri Thompson. “He wrote, shot, directed and edited the entire film himself. He has a passion for film, and you can tell in this video. He plans to pursue film in college after he graduates in May.”

    At the Blue Sparks Awards, Brentwood High won Best Newscast, Multi-Cam Production, Documentary and Public Service Announcement (PSA). In addition to the first-place finishes, Brentwood High also placed second in the Best Music Video category.

    "It's been an incredible year," said Adcock. "All of these awards are just a testament to how hard these students have worked. Many of these awards were won by sophomores and juniors, so I'm really looking forward to 2021-22."

    Independence High won Best Music Video and Best of Show at the Blue Sparks Awards.

    “I am proud of Harrison Kyle and his work since he’s been in my class,” said IHS media teacher Matt Balzer. “He is an amazing artist, and I’m looking forward to seeing what his work looks like after high school on his next adventure.”

    Ravenwood High won the Best Animation category and also placed second in Best PSA and fourth in Best Music Video.

    “I’m so excited for these students to be recognized for their hard work,” said RHS media teacher Megan Sanchez. “They are very dedicated to their craft and are continuing to explore their creativity in the classroom. We are excited to see what they do next.”

    Franklin High placed second in Best Scripted Fiction and Best Multi-Cam Production in addition to third place finishes for both Best Newscast Compilation and Best Music Video.

    “I was blown away by the talent and dedication of these students,” said Thompson. “I know they will succeed in their upcoming years.”

    Page High won third place in the Best Photography category.

    “Olivia McClain is an amazing director and photographer,” said PHS media teacher Terry Flowers. "Her attention to detail and the time she puts into her work sets her apart from the rest."

    Congratulations to all of the Williamson County Schools media students listed below:


Mark of Excellence Awards

  • Brentwood High

    Best Newscast

    • First: Level III Broadcast Team - Chad Barker, Macy Grubbs, Braden Thoeny, Louis Chader, Nathan Zonarich and Alex Ledbetter

    Best News Story

    • First: Stuart Beaton and Ethan Meadows

    Best Feature Story

    • Second: Aubree Mullican

    Best News Videography

    • Second: Eliza Linney

    Best Narrative Film

    • Second: Noah True, Eliza Linney and Keaton Hardwick

    Best Sports Story

    • Third: Chad Barker

    Franklin High

    Best Narrative Film

    • First: David Allsep

Blue Sparks Awards

  • Brentwood High

    Best Non-Fiction or Documentary Film

    • First: Grace Constantine

    Best Public Service Announcement (PSA)

    • First: Stuart Beaton, Eliza Linney and Noah True

    Best Newscast Compilation

    • First: WBHS 9 Level IV News Team- Ben Mahaffey, Oliver Brogdon, Stuart Beaton, Collin Caduff, Robert McClintock, Ethan Meadows, Harrison McConnell, Raa’d Abualrob and
      Conner Hall

    Best Multi-Cam Production

    • First: WBHS 9 Football Crew

    Best Music Video

    • Second: Linnea Dobay

    Franklin High

    Best Scripted Fiction

    • Second: David Allsep

    Best Multi-Cam Production

    • Second: Luke Ayers and Braxton Lazarus

    Best Newscast Compilation

    • Third: Franklin in 5 Crew - Luke Ayers, Kailey Melichar, Emma Sigler, Abram Guice and David Ortiz

    Best Music Video

    • Third: Emmaline Warden and Anna Faith Bell

    Independence High

    Best Music Video

    • First: Harrison Kyle

    Best in Show

    • First: Harrison Kyle

    Page High

    Best Photography

    • Third: Olivia McClain

    Ravenwood High

    Best Animation

    • First: Olivia Freeman

    Best PSA

    • Second: Olivia Freeman

    Best Music Video

    • Fourth: Cade Flores