District Sets Another Record with National Merit Semifinalists

National Merit Semifinalists head shots
  • Published September 14, 2022

    Williamson County Schools students are once again making history. Seventy-nine WCS students were named National Merit Semifinalists, beating the district's previous record of 72 set in 2021.

    The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the Semifinalists Wednesday, September 14. Of the 1.5 million students to enter the program, only around 16,000 receive this honor. In 2020, the district had 52 Semifinalists, and in both 2018 and 2019, WCS had 53.

    "I just want to congratulate all the students and commend them on their hard work," said Superintendent Jason Golden. "This accomplishment will open many doors, and we are very proud of these Semifinalists and their teachers and staff who have helped them along the way."

    High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Any Semifinalist who has been selected as a National Merit Scholarship Finalist will be notified in February. To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and their high school must submit an application including information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment and any honors and awards they received.

    "The foundation for this type of success really starts in elementary school and builds upon itself all the way through high school," said WCS Assistant Superintendent of Secondary Schools Dr. Leigh Webb. "We are so proud of the success of our students with this most recent achievement."

    The Merit Scholarship winners will then be chosen from the Finalists.

    Congratulations to the National Merit Semifinalists listed below:

  • Brentwood High

    • Audrey Aulino
    • Lukas Bowman
    • Logan Brownfield
    • Jesse Cai
    • Colin Carpenter
    • Rhys Clark
    • Owen Coulam
    • Brent Driver
    • Dhuhaa Fazili
    • Raymond Gardocki
    • William Hong
    • Angela Huo
    • Morgan Koerlin
    • Nathan Lee
    • Grace Lu
    • Molly McMullan
    • Reagan Nelson
    • Landon Parker
    • Corinne Porada
    • Nihar Sanku
    • Luca Santilli
    • Zachary Villaruz
    • Amy Xu
    • Elaine Zhang

    Centennial High

    • Presley Anderson
    • Sean Beyer
    • Emma Burrell
    • Keira Yocum

    Franklin High

    • Aidan Culp
    • Leah Gallers
    • David Haskins
    • Joshua Murray
    • Jack Parker
    • Kaylin Schaefer
    • Townsend Schultz

    Independence High

    • Ava Gordon
    • Kyler King
    • Rylee Lent
    • Nathaniel Martinez
    • Dalton Shults
    • Lillian Valk
  • Nolensville High

    • William Flanigan
    • Darsh Khandelwal

    Page High

    • Bryson Boone
    • Josef Dosch
    • Abigail Koczaja
    • Broderick Labott
    • Cynthia Liang
    • Pharris Livingston
    • Elijah Ray
    • Merissa Smalley
    • Paxton Whitehead

    Ravenwood High

    • Gauri Adarsh
    • Tyler Allison
    • Emily Barnes
    • Thomas Bork
    • Varun Bussa
    • Lana Cartailler
    • Ann Dickerson
    • Sharada Ghantasala
    • Grace Gstell
    • Megan Hopfensperger
    • Andrew Kim
    • Joshua Liu
    • Shiv Mehta
    • Ayush Mishra
    • Ella Montgomery
    • Matthew Mueller
    • Aishni Nath
    • Jacob Newton
    • William Parodi
    • Truman Porter
    • Katelyn Rowan
    • Andrew Salmon
    • Adwit Satyawadi
    • Kaitlyn Wojtak
    • Cynthia Xu
    • Linda Xu
    • Debra Zhang