WCS students made history again as 51 seniors were celebrated by the Williamson County Board of Education at the group’s meeting February 18, 2019. The students were named National Merit Scholarship Finalists and include Brentwood High’s Namrah Ajmal, Grant Ballard, Celia Brazil, Derrick Chen, Jessica Cortez, Quinn Cunneely, Cade Fowler, Patrick Holcombe, Suraj Keerthi, Aspen Martin, Caroline Overton, Elizabeth Qiao, Yi Qu, Paige Russell, Emma Rutherford, Hutson Staggs, Davis Westbrook and Georgia Winkler; Centennial’s Meleah Orr, William Ward and Rhea Zaverch; Franklin’s Olivia Bruno, Megan Carneal, Joshua Garretson, Sina Ghandi, Paige Hurley, June Kolentus, Evelyn Lanai, Sarah Li, Madeline McGaha, David Ong, Madeline Repath, Kate Sanborn, Sally Shadrach and Grace Simpson; Independence High’s Will Henke, Brent Lane and Sean Spoletini; Page High’s Megan Juba and Jacob Robbins; and Ravenwood High’s Jordan Albrecht, Kevin Frost, Matthew Goodbred, Andrea Huang, Gabrielle Liu, Daniel Pert, Lauren Shepard, Grace Sullivan, Maya Thieme, Sean Whelan and Isabel Wilson.

Two students were recognized for winning a 2019 TSSAA State Championship in wrestling. Brentwood High’s Skylar Coffey won in the AAA 220 Division.  His coaches are Damon Smith and Jordan Loy. Fairview High’s Jackson Clevenger won the A/AA 285 Division. His coach is James Derrick.

Several students were also recognized for becoming All-State Band members including Brentwood High’s Meredith Sparks. Her teachers are Andrew O’Keefe and Katiana Nicholson. Centennial High’s students are Anna Cawthorne and Randall Beard. Scott Miller is their teacher. Franklin High’s students include Ethan Bendhelm, Isaac Collins and Brandon Vaughan. Their teachers are David Aydelott and Jacob Campos. Nolensville High students are Luis Abud and Casey Martens.  Their teachers are Benjamin Easley and Michael Holland. Page High’s Connor Flatt was selected. His teacher is Michael Rosson.  Ravenwood High’s students are Matt Helou, Kayla Richardson and Kelly Bork. Their teachers are Chris Janowiak and Brianna Bjerke. Summit High’s Brennan Angus was selected, and his teachers are Erick Harris and Scott Atchley.

All-State Orchestra students include Brentwood High’s Bright Johnston, Joanne Kang, Alyssa Fetters, Katy Rose Bennett and Brooke Nienkark. Their teacher is Andrew O’Keefe.  Franklin students are Sarah Xu and Sarah Li, and their teacher is Cassandra Brosvik. Nolensville High’s Anna Touchstone was selected, and her teacher is Craig Madole. Ravenwood students include Selina Wang, Sophie Lee, Matthew Goodbred, Carson Pruett, Brendan Goodbred, Samuel Schaeffer, Saurav Chakraburty, Andrew Huang, Daniel Chen, Riya Mitra, Diya Mitra and Andrea Huang.  Their teacher is Cassandra Brosvik.

In the Superintendent’s Report, Dr. Looney told the group he was monitoring illness across the county but that he had not seen a high rate of absenteeism.

In the Board Chairman’s Report, Gary Anderson thanked the Franklin High chorus, under the direction of Angela Beale, for performing prior to the meeting. He also recognized the high school students participating in Student Congress On Policies in Education, SCOPE.

In New Business, the Board:

  • Approved three General Purpose Budget items to include additional special education TA positions; and Intra-Category Transfer for start-up costs for the new elementary school on Gosey Hill Road; and a resolution for two additional early childhood classrooms.
  • Approved the 2019-20 family tuition rate.
  • Approved zoning and re-zoning plans for the new elementary school, the Oak View area and undeveloped subdivisions.
  • Did not approve a re-zoning plan for Mill Creek Elementary. The group plans to continue discussions on the plan.
  • Pulled the open zoned schools plan for 2019-20 until the March 25 meeting.
  • Approved 2019-20 school fees.
  • Approved the adoption of the Superintendent’s goals for the year.
  • Approved the Superintendent’s tenure recommendations to the Board.
  • Approved the Acceptable Use and Internet Safety Agreement for students and employees.
  • Approved one policy on second reading, Naming of Schools.
  • Approved two policies on first reading, Vacation and Holidays and Physical Examinations and Immunizations.

In Other Business, the Board:

  • Approved recommended field trip fee requests.
  • Approved all Section II Board policies on second reading.
  • Approved the Title IV Student Support and Academic Enrichment Competitive Grant.
  • Approved Heritage Elementary School playground equipment.

The next regular meeting of the Williamson County Board of Education is scheduled for Monday, March 25, 2018, beginning at 6:30 p.m. in the auditorium of the Administrative Complex.

Board packet information can be found on the school district’s website www.wcs.edu.  Select District; select Board of Education; select Board Meetings; and select School Board Meeting Dashboard.