The Williamson County Board of Education recognized students and staff during its regular monthly meeting April 16, 2019.

Ravenwood student Daniel Chen was honored for earning a perfect ACT composite score.

Several students received first place during the Distributive Education Clubs of America, DECA, competition including Brentwood High’s Matthew Koshy for Automotive Services Marketing; James Derryberry and Charlie Hardin for Business Law and Ethics Team Decision Making; Patrick Holcombe for Financial Consultant; Emmy D’Aprille and Hollan Powers for Integrated Marketing Plan: Product; Camila Mohamed for Marketing Communications; and Katie Contich and Chandler Gallaher for Marketing Management Team Decision Making. Their teacher is Lisa Nease.

First place state DECA winners from Page High include Taylor Kubricky and Mackenzie Kincaid for Hospitality Services Team Event; McKenzie Elliott, McKayla Marlin, and Josie Marlin for Franchise Business Plan; Noah Ross for Food Marketing; Lauren Smith for Business Services Marketing and Grace Wofford for Quick Serve Restaurant Management. Their teacher is Jackie Stevens.

Centennial students placed first in the Future Business Leaders of America, FBLA, state competition including Jerry Elms for Hospitality Management and Katelyn Harker and Cary Massey for Entrepreneurship Team. Robbie Reed is their teacher.

Students from three schools earned top honors at the Technology Student Association, TSA, state competition. From Fairview Middle, Kylan Keller, Connor Farris and Katie Statton won first place for Mass Production, and Katie Statton and Hailey Hughes won for Problem Solving. Sara Reynolds is their teacher.

At Fairview High, Isabel Cris was elected as the TSA State Vice President; Jax Turner as the TSA State Secretary; and Alexis Miniat was selected as a TSA National Office Candidate. Their teacher is Kevin Sizemore. Page High students Katie Weaver won the Distinguished Student Award; Aman Pokal, Sammi Bugter, Aaditya Dundigalla, Jacob Phillips, Max Styler and Elijah Tidwell won for Engineering Design; Katie Weaver, Natalie Harris, Katie Adams, Sammi Bugter, Chris Hill, India Lux, Delaney Miller and Will Souers won for On Demand Video; Nathan Davis for Prepared Presentation; Natalie Harris for Promotional Design; and Nathan Davis, Jacob Phillips, Max Styler, Annie Weaver and Logan Zukas for Video Game Design. Their teacher is Beth Foreman.

Ravenwood High’s Madeline Zhang was honored for earning first place in the Tennessee Association of School Librarians Bookmark Contest. Her teacher is Tiffany Tucker.

In Staff Spotlights, Page High teacher Beth Foreman was named the TSA High School Advisor of the Year. OER Social Studies Team member and teacher Liza Vaughn was recognized for her appointment to the Library of Congress Teacher Institute. Hillsboro fifth grade teacher Cody Hawks was recognized for winning the Middle Tennessee Financial Literacy Leadership Award.

In the Superintendent’s Report, Dr. Looney shared that the Cultural Competency Council will meet on May 14 at 6 p.m. in the PD Center.

In the Board Chairman’s Report, Gary Anderson thanked the Fairview High woodwind ensemble under the direction of Mark Kinzer for performing prior to the meeting. He also shared that out of zone requests are due May 15.

In New Business, the Board:

  • Approved two intra-category amendments to include one for mileage in the General Purpose School Fund and one for Creekside Elementary in the Education Capital Projects Fund.
  • Approved a budget amendment for a donation to the WILLCOs.
  • Approved two budget resolutions to include one for an ESCO payment and one for background checks.
  • Approved the facilities use fee schedule for 2019-20.
  • Approved a revision to the list of out of zone schools for 2019-20.
  • Approved the zoning of Brixworth Reserve Subdivision.

In Other Business, the Board:

  • Approved recommended field trip fee requests.
  • Approved policies on second reading to include Section IV policies and Overtime Pay.
  • Approved the deletion of the Federal Programs policy.
  • Approved the Read to Be Ready 2019 Summer Grant for Fairview Elementary School.

The next regular meeting of the Williamson County Board of Education is scheduled for Monday, May 20, 2019, beginning at 6:30 p.m. in the auditorium of the Administrative Complex.

Board packet information can be found on the school district’s website  Select District; select Board of Education; select Board Meetings; and select School Board Meeting Dashboard.