Williamson County high school students continue to earn a perfect ACT composite score, and five were honored including Alex Bush, Fairview High; Carsten Rovey, Page High; Ian Brown and Trisha Mazumdar, Ravenwood High; and Noah Bell, Summit High.

Brentwood High graduate Namrah Ajmal was recognized as an AP State Scholar, one of only two in the State.

The district celebrated four state championships from the fall sports season. Fairview High athlete Alyssa Andrea won the TSSAA Cross Country State Champion Division I Small School. Ravenwood won the TSSAA Girls Soccer State Championship Division I AAA. The team includes Ashley Yoshihara, Leah Johnson, Mia Fraser, Sarah Cloud, Sarah Kate Rath, Courtney Hill, Josie Ricketts, Erin Bentley, Anna Major, Tori Case, Marcella Forero-Pretto, Lillye Perez, Nora Henderson, Christina Stauffer, Lauren Hiatt, Maddie Gleason, Anna Jahr, Lorelai De Lacuesta, Faith Vantson and Kendall Curran. Their head coach is Brandon Mead, and the assistant coaches are Jessica Mancini and Megan Nugent.

Brentwood High won the TSSAA Volleyball State Champions Division I AAA. Team members include Reese Bailey, Haley Carpenter, Zoe Oldham, Mary Oldham, Hollye Tate, Rylie Kael, Shaye Eggleston, Coach Angie Noble, Anza Sellers, Dylan Sulcer, Ashley Miller, Hallie Corinne Frist, Sophie Frohlich, Haley Sanders, Piper Drazek, Meredith Moody, Preslee Douty, Carol Thacker, Josie Sellers, Sophie Cummins, Sydney Siefert and Gracie Young. The head coach is Barbara Campbell, and the assistant coaches are Cathy Cram and Angie Noble. Nolensville High won the TSSAA Volleyball State Champions Division I AA. Team members include Caroline Johnston, Charley Fulton, Lauren Starcke, Avery Patton, Maddie Donahue, Mamie Guthrie, Ellie Tant, Jasmine Jenkins, Caymin Ladd, Maggie Rickert, Sydney Bloedorn, Lourdes Doyle, Sydney Bloedorn, Avery Young, Madeline McNeely and Ana Barrera. The head coach is Brett Young, and the assistant coaches are Joy Owino and Jennifer Childs.

In the arts, many students were selected to the All-State Honor Choir. From Brentwood High, Alex Cook, Caroline Conte, Vivi Hirst, Ella Saliba, Caleb Oakley, Michelle Qiu and Macey Wade were named. Natalie Pratt is their teacher.  Centennial students include Graeme Cadaret, Chris Cooper, Sydney Hoover, Austin Krell, Addie Lewis and Natalie Peterson Lopes. Their teacher is Jonathan Vest.  From Franklin High, Molly Pope, Molly Volker, Lillian Brown, Lilly Warren and Asha Henshaw were selected. Angela Beale is their teacher. Independence High’s Haidyn DeWispelaere, Eriel Weaver, Karson Hamlin, Preston Rogers, Evelyn Palmliden, Jessica Coffey and Grace Riley were selected. Their teacher is Justin Kirby. Ravenwood students are Mark Dovgalyuk, Ben Jessop, Trisha Mazumdar, Camryn Rasmussen, Aidan Schacht, Madeline Thomas and Jasper Vasilevskis. Ethan Bennet is their teacher. Summit students are Maddie Bauer, Logan Benton, Braden Fitzgerald, Jack Glenn, Ava Podewitz, Kelsey Tardiff and Megan Robinson. Jenna Elsberry is their teacher.

In staff spotlights Brentwood High teacher Heather McHugh received the Tennessee Art Educator Association Secondary Art Educator of the Year.

Crockett Elementary was also celebrated for earning national recognition being named a 2019 National Blue Ribbon School.

In the Superintendent’s Report, Jason Golden thanked the Grassland Middle School string orchestra under the direction of Susan Abell for performing prior to the meeting. He acknowledged growth in the arts across the district. He also reminded the Board that the schools and district will be closed next week for Thanksgiving Break.

In the Board Chairman’s Report, Gary Anderson shared a list of school holiday performances with Board members and encouraged them to attend a program. He called on Board member Rick Wimberly to report on the Tennessee School Board Association conference.

In New Business, the Board:

  • Approved a human trafficking professional development plan as required by the State.
  • Approved three 2019-2020 General Purpose School Budget Resolutions: one for buses; one intercategory transfer for 2019-20 salary; and one for new school start-up costs.
  • Approved a substitute teacher incentive bonus.
  • Approved the Five-Year Capital Plan for construction.
  • Approved one policy on first reading, Agendas.

In Other Business, the Board:

  • Approved an addendum to correct a clerical error in Superintendent of Schools’ contract.
  • Approved the following policies on second reading:  3.209, 3.211, 3.215, 3.216, 6.200, 6.201, 6.203, 6.209, 6.306, 6.400, 6.4001, 6.403, 6.405, 6.4052, 6.4081, 6.409, 6.412, 6.413, 6.414, 6.503, 6.505, 6.601, 6.602.
  • Approved the following policies for deletion on second reading:  3.213, 6.5052, 6.4002, 6.406, 6.411, 6.501, 6.6021, 6.6022, 6.6023, 6.703, 6.705, 6.713, 6.714.
  • Approved recommended field trip fee requests.
  • Approved the LEA compliance report.
  • Approved members of the textbook adoption committee.
  • Approved implementation of the County Powers Act for lights on the entryway sign at Independence High School.
  • Approved a Page High School batting cage enclosure.

The next regular meeting of the Williamson County Board of Education is scheduled for Tuesday, January 21, 2019, beginning at 6:30 p.m. in the auditorium of the Administrative Complex.

Board packet information can be found on the school district’s website.